Show Menu

Faculty of Mathematics & Computer Science

The Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science comprises the Institute of Computer Science and the Institute of Mathematics. The Institute of Computer Science developed out of the Computer Science department founded in 1989, and was completely rebuilt when the university was restructured at the start of the 1990s. The Mathematics Institute has a tradition of mathematical research stretching back over 125 years, and developed from the Mathematics Seminar founded by Felix Klein in 1881.